Awake my soul – 13/1/17

“Open the eyes of my heart Lord, I want to see You”

Running? No thank you. It is something that I shun. So, when I began running in December 2016, I hope that it would be a testimony of my Walk in Faith with my Lord Jesus Christ.

From that faithful day, on 4th December 2016, during the Standard Chartered Marathon 2016 (SCM 2016) when Kawabata san, my Japanese sensei called out to me (I was a volunteer at the SCM 2016), which triggered my running engine, there is no looking back.

*Brother Chung Meng had asked, among our common friends, if we were keen to participate as a volunteer in the SCM 2016. All 5 of us said ‘Yes’. This is a momentuous moment that triggered this Walk of Faith with my Lord Jesus Christ.

The following are memorable to me:

In december 2016, my Brother in Christ, Kok Seng told me about 42race.com.

From then on, I have ran 2 virtual runs. Don’t be misled by the term “virtual run”. Fact is, the runs are real.

Xmas Race 2016

  • xmas-race-2016

New Year Resolution 2017
new-year-resolution-2017

2 exciting runs which my friends and me are running together.

Incidentally, my eldest brother is also running in the 21.1km category in the 2XU.

Running with my Brothers in Christ, Chung Meng and Maurice on the 2nd day of the new year 2017: East Coast Park wrapped in cool breeze, at 845am, we started our run and clocked 5.3km. Thank God for the awesome weather. A great reward awaited us at Satay By The Bay, where we loaded up on lots of satay and liquid (sugar cane juice and others).

Fast forward 5 days, together with Maurice at Bishan park, we ran 2.8km. The sun was welcoming with her abundance of sun rays. That had an effect on the run.

In the wee hours of the morning of 10th January 2017, East Coast Park, with the cool breeze and lamp posts cheering me, I ran 6km. Running along long stretches of dark  path, illuminated by the lamp posts, was a new delight to me.

With Brothers in Christ, Maurice, Dave, Francis, we achieved a 8.5km+ run along the scenic Helix Bridge,
Marina Bay Sands, Gardens by the Bay. A jump start exercise was in order, before the run. Following the run, it was fellowship time and makan time at Whampoa Market.

Yes Lord, in my run with you, let me be conscious that we run together.


2 thoughts on “Awake my soul – 13/1/17

Leave a comment